Figure Drawing

Last night was my first figure drawing class. I last took figure drawing in 1984, and it felt like I was right back there…except that was a horrible experience that has lurked around in my brain ever since. So I took a step back, used the skills I acquired over the last year and pushed through the doubt and negativity, so I could begin to learn.

I was struggling with my linework as usual, and got a bad angle for the first 10 minute pose. I decided to play around with some tone, and struck on the way to navigate this difficult subject…I should fall back on my strengths, developing form with values.

brad_1

Things got a lot more enjoyable, though obviously this is just the beginning and I have a looooong way to go, and so much more to learn. But at least I found a way to make it fun!

brad_2_sfw

Leave a Reply

