Wednesday Night Oils

Tonight was local color lay-in for the skin. I remember how rough it made the drawing last semester, so I was better equipped to see it turn into a bit of a mess at this point! The instructor continues to really challenge and push me, which is awesome (though I still ask a million questions!). She has my number and realizes I like to push myself to improve!

So I did a bit more with the tones this time, rather than the relatively flat light/dark split I did last time. I think I had 5 brushes going (technically 8 if you count a small round for fixing stuff, a brush for the lips and a dry brush for smoothing). Again, the loveliness of how oil slides against oil…just wonderful to paint with.

IntroOilPortraiture_11.JPG

I have next week off, but more color and values to come, as well as a return of lost detail! Onward!

Leave a Reply

