Pencils? Pencils!

Dig this fancy method to sharpen pencils! A bit tricky to get right, the short one on the bottom broke but my second time I nailed it and it’s the best one. The idea is to have a taper from the painted portion through the wood all the way to the tip. Thus you can use the tip or various widths of the side for lots of flexibility. Cool! Already feels a lot more natural than a ‘normal’ pencil or stick of charcoal.

Sharpened_pencils.jpg

I used a sharp pocket knife. For the first two I used sandpaper to finish the taper (still has too much shoulder, though). The stubby one I did just with the knife and it came out pretty decent.

2 thoughts on “Pencils? Pencils!

  1. Cool! I used to do this quite a bit at my dad’s woodworking shop; we would sharpen pencils with a knife when needed. I always thought it was a cool and unique way of doing it, and as you said allowed you to do “side sweeps” when coloring areas. Never thought about the implied artistical applications…

  2. Cool! I used to do this quite a bit at my dad’s woodworking shop; we would sharpen pencils with a knife when needed. I always thought it was a cool and unique way of doing it, and as you said allowed you to do “side sweeps” when coloring areas. Never thought about the implied artistical applications…

Leave a Reply

