Anduriel, Elf Warrior

So here’s the results of my first lesson in NMM. Thanks to Anne Foerster! Overall I have to say I’m pretty happy with how he came out (I hope you’re sitting down!).

Anduriel_1.JPG

Anduriel_2.JPG

I also went a bit further with the hair thanks to ttuckerman mentioning Oiled Leather as a shade for blond hair, and I decided to punch up a couple highlights in my quest to work on my contrast. Now I need to go back and revamp my cloth and leather techniques! I like the effect I got glazing a dark red over the little scroll case or whatever it is, tucked between the sheaths and bedroll.

Tried for some blue/green eyes but it didn’t photograph well. I’ll probably get an eyeroll (hah) from my fiancee, she likes to make fun of the freaky eyes I give characters in video games.

And for fun, here’s an elf I did back in the 90s for comparison.

AndurielandFriend.JPG

4 thoughts on “Anduriel, Elf Warrior

  1. Are you using two brush blending like on the Drone? How are you liking that technique? The blends are very nice on this one and your progress has been astonishing since that first Drone 🙂 Keep up the good stuff, I enjoyed to see what else you’ll paint up!

  2. Thanks so much for the compliment!

    As I’ve been working through Reaper’s L2PKs, I’ve slacked on the 2-brush method. Lately I’ve been working on glazing with thinned paints. Everything since the Drone has been thin layering with glazes to accentuate. hue or just plain clean things up.

    • Anytime man you rock!

      And yeah that’s the method I’ve used for a while. I like it a lot. It’s easier to get right than 2-brush but it also takes quite a bit longer. Eh, more fun that way in my opinion xD

  3. very nice work, i fully intend to return and look through your other mini’s, I’d do it just now but it’s the middle of the night.

Leave a Reply

