Licking Lead

The reason for this post is two-fold. One, to refute Sheepherder’s assumption that my miniatures are all pewter đŸ™‚

But also, to show the battered survivors of my childhood. The lead miniatures of the late 70s and early 80s. I’m not sure if this is all of them, I just ran through the boxes and grabbed the ones I was sure were that vintage.

About half of the paint jobs are from that era, the other half painted in the 90s. We used to use red bases with a black wash as a rule in my gaming group, I forgot to red base a couple when I painted them in the 90s, but a few (the flesh golem and axeman) are 90s paint jobs with red bases.

We played a lot with them, so they’re pretty beat. Changing from lead to pewter was probably a good idea, the lead was so malleable that everything is dented or dulled. We used giant slabs of plexiglass and grease pencils for laying out maps, at my house I also had a large chalkboard tabletop.

Leave a Reply

